SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES - 25 MAY 2022

Present: Councillor Eden (Mayor);

Councillors Ayub, Ballsdon, Barnett-Ward, Brock, Carnell, Challenger, Cresswell, Cross, Davies, C Dennis, G Dennis, Edwards, Emberson, Ennis, Gavin, Gittings, Griffith, Hacker, Hornsby-Smith, Hoskin, Keane, Keeping, Kretchmer, Khan, Kitchingham, Lanzoni, Leng, Lovelock, McCann, McElroy, McEwan, McGonigle, Mitchell, Moore, Mpofu-Coles, O'Connell, Page, Robinson, Rowland, Singh, Sultan, Terry, Thompson, White, Williams, Woodward and Yeo.

10. ADMISSION OF HONORARY ALDERMEN OF THE BOROUGH

The Council considered the admission of three new Honorary Aldermen of the Borough.

The following motion was moved by Councillor Brock and seconded by Councillor Page and CARRIED:

Resolved -

That the Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman, in accordance with section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972 and the criteria approved by the Council on 23rd February 2022, on the following persons:

- (1) Tony Jones, for having rendered eminent service on Reading Borough Council as a member for the Redlands, Battle, and Whitley wards, including two terms as Mayor of Reading and having held senior political office.
- (2) Jeanette Skeats, for having rendered eminent service on Reading Borough Council as a member for the Thames ward, including a term as Mayor of Reading and having held senior political office.
- (3) Joe Williams, for having rendered eminent service on the former Berkshire County Council as a member for the Katesgrove ward and having an exceptional record of community service and leadership.

(The meeting started at 6.50pm and closed at 7.35pm).