Committee details

Health and Wellbeing Board

Purpose of committee

The Reading Health and Well-being Board (HWB) aims to improve health and well-being for people in Reading. It is a partnership board that brings together the Council, NHS, police, fire service, voluntary sector and the local Healthwatch organisation.

The terms of reference and operational arrangements for the Board can be found in Section 4 of Part 3 of the Constitution:

Constitution of the council - Reading Borough Council



  • Councillor Ruth McEwan  (Chair) 
  • Sarah Webster  (Vice-Chair)  Executive Director for Berkshire West Place, Bucks, Ox & Berks West Integrated Care Board
  • Councillor Paul Gittings   
  • Councillor Wendy Griffith   
  • Alice Kunjappy-Clifton    Lead Officer, Healthwatch Reading
  • Councillor Liz Terry   
  • Tehmeena Ajmal    Chief Operating Officer, Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
  • Stephen Leonard    West Hub Group Manager, Royal Berkshire Fire and Rescue Service
  • Katie Prichard-Thomas    Chief Nursing Officer, Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust
  • Supt Steve Raffield    Reading LPA Commander, Thames Valley Police
  • Rachel Spencer    Chief Executive, Reading Voluntary Action
  • Jackie Yates    Chief Executive, Reading Borough Council
  • Dr Andy Ciecierski    Berkshire West GP Leadership Group
  • John Ashton    Interim Director of Public Health for Reading & West Berkshire
  • Lara Patel    Executive Director Children's Services - Brighter Futures for Children
  • Melissa Wise    Executive Director of Community & Adult Social Care Services, Reading Borough Council
  • Helen Clark  (Substitute)  Deputy Director for Berkshire West Place, Bucks, Ox & Berks West Integrated Care Board
  • Jamie Evans  (Substitute)  Healthwatch Reading
  • Councillor Jacopo Lanzoni  (Substitute)
  • Nicky Lloyd  (Substitute)  Director of Finance, Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust
  • Councillor Micky Leng  (Substitute)
  • Councillor Finn McGoldrick  (Substitute)
  • Councillor Alice Mpofu-Coles  (Substitute)
  • Gail Muirhead  (Substitute)  Prevention Manager, Royal Berkshire Fire & Rescue Service

Contact information

Support officer: Nicky Simpson - Committee Services. Email: